Understanding the Five Love Languages

Understanding the Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts is a book written by Dr. Gary Chapman in 1992.

The five love languages describe how we and our romantic partners express love and feel loved.

Dr. Chapman encourages us to figure out which love language we speak: how we show love for our partner. 

And, which language we understand: which behaviors make us feel loved by our partner.

The idea of the five love languages is that once you determine your love language and your partner's love language, this will make both people in the relationship feel more loved. 

Feeling more loved in our relationships brings about greater satisfaction.

If we feel loved by our partner, it can ease insecurity, jealousy, misunderstanding, communication issues, intimacy issues, and conflicts.

But, in order to make our partner feel loved, we need to understand the five love languages. 

Don't worry, it's not a complicated system.

This article will describe the five languages in detail to help you better understand the five love languages and how to use them to improve your relationship.

Marriages & Couples Therapists in Colorado

Melanie Klinke, MA, MFTC, LPCC

Melanie Klinke, MA, MFTC, LPCC

(719) 345-2424
Katie (Kate) Castillo, MS, LPCC

Katie (Kate) Castillo, MS, LPCC

Colorado Springs, Colorado
(719) 345-2424
Abigail Corless, LPCC

Abigail Corless, LPCC

(719) 345-2424
Margot Bean, LCSW

Margot Bean, LCSW

Colorado Springs, Colorado
(719) 345-2424
Donna Janiec, LPC, NCC

Donna Janiec, LPC, NCC

(719) 345-2424
Seth Boughton, SWC

Seth Boughton, SWC

Aurora, Colorado
(720) 449-4121
Jennifer Luttman, LPC, ACS

Jennifer Luttman, LPC, ACS

(719) 345-2424
Shannon Matlock, LPC, NCC

Shannon Matlock, LPC, NCC

Colorado Springs, Colorado
(719) 203-7021
Randal Thomas, SWC

Randal Thomas, SWC

Colorado Springs, Colorado
(719) 602-1342
Rodney Collins, LMFT

Rodney Collins, LMFT

Colorado Springs, Colorado
(719) 345-2424

The Five Love Languages: Words of Affirmation

The first of the five love languages is words of affirmation.

Think of this love language as expressing your love verbally: you do this by telling your partner that you love them, praising them when they accomplish something, complimenting their appearance, expressing gratitude and appreciation, and verbally acknowledging their contributions to the relationship.

Some examples of words of affirmation might be: "I'm so proud of how hard you work."

Or, "You look really great tonight."

Or, "I'm so grateful that you're my partner."

If you're a couple with children, you might compliment their parenting skills: "I love what a great mom you are." "I really appreciate all that you do for our kids.

If you feel most loved when your partner uses words of affirmation, then that is your love language.

On the reverse side: people whose love language is words of affirmation are particularly sensitive to insults or rude comments.

If this is your partner's language then choosing your words carefully could contribute to them feeling loved.

The Five Love Languages: Quality Time

The second of the five love languages is quality time. 

This means spending time with your partner or feeling most loved when your partner spends time with you.

This could be making a special quality time for the two of you or just being more attentive when you're together.

One way to use this love language could be by setting up a weekly date night. 

You could take your partner out to their favorite place: or, surprise them by making reservations at the new restaurant they're always wanting to try. Or, you could take them out dancing.

But don't worry, you don't have to leave the house to use the love language of quality time. 

You could set up a home date, such as making a charcuterie plate, opening some wine, and watching a movie or a show together.

If you feel like your partner is too checked out, or always on their phone. 

You could decide to go TV and smartphone free for one night. Instead of scrolling through your phones, the two of you could play cards or make out on the couch to a sexy record.

Or, you could set up a fire pit in your backyard and enjoy a romantic talk next to a warm fire under the stars.

The key to this love language is spending time with your partner. 

That's the part that really matters.

Like all of the five love languages, you or your partner will feel the least loved when time isn't being spent together. 

Making an improvement in this area could improve your relationship. 

The Five Love Languages: Acts of Service

The third of the five love languages is acts of service. 

This means that you or your partner feels most loved when thoughtful or helpful things are done for them.

For example, you might choose to get up early to take care of the kids and make breakfast on their day off so that they can sleep in. 

Or, you might make sure their car gets regularly serviced so they don't have to worry about it.

You could think of this as the actions speak louder than words love language. 

Take thoughtful actions to support your partner.

At the core of this love language is support; the opposite of this love language is a lack of support. 

The Five Love Languages: Gifts

The next of the five love languages is pretty self-explanatory: it's giving and receiving gifts.

If a thoughtful or creative present makes you feel adored, then gifts might be your love language.

This love language isn't about materialism or expensive jewelry and handbags: it's providing your partner with a physical or visual reminder of your partner's affection.

Make sure to put a lot of thought into the whole process by choosing something for your partner that is meaningful to them and to both of you.

This could be a framed photo for their office. It could be sending flowers to them when they've had a bad day. 

Or, surprising them with a present on a day that isn't a special occasion.

If it hurts you when your partner doesn't buy you gifts or you long for more gifts in your relationship, then this might be your love language.

The Five Love Languages: Physical Touch

The last of five love languages is physical touch.

This means that you or your partner feels most loved when being touched.

This can include kissing, cuddling, hugging, holding hands, and yes - sex. 

It could also be holding your partner when they've had a bad day or just because you want to make them feel loved.

Maybe you could put your arm around them while you're at church. Or, rub their feet while you're watching TV.

It's about cultivating a connection and security through the various kinds of physical touch.


Understanding the five love languages is a great way to improve your romantic relationship with your partner.

It's about figuring out how they feel loved and making them feel that way. 

You might be surprised how positively they react. It might also help the two of you reconnect and further grow your relationship.




Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

Related Posts



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
April 18th, 2024

overcomers counseling logo

Explore local counseling and psychiatry services to find the tailored support you require. Embark on a journey towards resilience and become an Overcomer with the right professional assistance by your side!

Contact Us

5585 Erindale Dr. Ste 204
Colorado Springs, CO 80918 mailing
(719) 345-2424 office
(719) 888-5022 text
(855) 719-2549 fax

Business Hours (Provider's hours may vary)

 Sunday   Closed
 Monday   8:00am - 5:00pm
 Tuesday   8:00am - 5:00pm
 Wednesday    8:00am - 5:00pm
 Thursday   8:00am - 5:00pm
 Friday   8:00am - 5:00pm
 Saturday  Closed